Two Audi DTM drivers take podium at Norisring

At last weekend’s race in Norisring, two Audi DTM drivers managed to occupy a position on the podium but Audi still didn’t manage to triumph at home where throughout the weekend 121,000 spectators attended the event. Nevertheless, Audi had two drivers on the podium, three in the top four and six drivers who obtained points. The brand with the four rings was actually the one to obtain the biggest number of points, obtaining no less than 196 points, ahead of BMW with 132 and Mercedes-Benz with 76.

The race was won by Robert Wickens, followed by AUDI DTM drivers Jamie Green (Audi Sport Team Rosberg RS5) and Mattias Ekstorm (Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline RS5). In fourth and fifth places came two Audi Sport Team Abt RS5 drivers with Edoardo Mortara (4) and Adrien Tambay (5). Other Audi drivers include Mike Rockenfeller (Audi Sport Team Phoenix RS5) on ninth place, Timo Scheider (Audi Sport Team Rosberg) in tenth place and Nico Muller (Audi Sport Team Rosberg RS5) on the 19th position. Miguel Molina (Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline) did not finish the race as he collided with a wall and had to retire.

You Might Also Enjoy:  VIDEO: Watch an 820 HP Audi R8 V10 hit 320 km/h

Here are the full results:

1. Robert Wickens CAN AMG Mercedes C-Coupe 82 laps 
2. Jamie Green GBR Audi Sport Team Rosberg RS5 +23.906 secs 
3. Mattias Ekstrom SWE Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline RS5 +25.922 secs 
4. Edoardo Mortara ITA Audi Sport Team Abt RS5 +32.875 secs 
5. Adrien Tambay FRA Audi Sport Team Abt RS5 +44.661 secs 
6. Pascal Wehrlein GER Gooix Mercedes C-Coupe +44.788 secs 
7. Marco Wittmann GER BMW Team RMG +46.050 secs 
8. Joey Hand USA BMW Team RBM M4 +47.991 secs 
9. Mike Rockenfeller GER Audi Sport Team Phoenix RS5 +48.803 secs 
10. Timo Scheider GER Audi Sport Team Rosberg +1 lap 
11. Bruno Spengler CAN BMW Team Schnitzer M4 +1 lap 
12. Gary Paffett GBR EURONICS Mercedes C-Coupe +1 lap 
13. Daniel Juncadella ESP Petronas Mercedes C-Coupe +1 lap 
14. Augusto Farfus BRZ BMW Team RBM M4 +1 lap 
15. Paul di Resta GBR AMG Mercedes C-Coupe +1 lap 
16. Timo Glock GER BMW Team MTEK M4 +2 laps 
17. Antonio Felix da Costa POR BMW Team MTEK M4 +2 laps 
18. Maxime Martin BEL BMW Team RMG M4 +2 laps 
19. Nico Muller SUI Audi Sport Team Rosberg RS5 +2 laps 
20. Vitaly Petrov RUS AMG Mercedes C-Coupe +2 laps 

Not Classified 

Christian Vietoris GER Original-Teile Mercedes C-Coupe +9 laps
Miguel Molina ESP Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline +11 laps
Martin Tomczyk GER BMW Team Schnitzer M4 +24 laps

Adrian Padeanu

Long-time fan of the fabled Four Rings.