Five Audi teams getting ready for Nürburgring 24 Hours

Following the one-two finish at the Le Mans endurance race last weekend, Audi’s motorsport division has shifted its attention towards the Nürburgring 24 Hours. While at Le Mans they participated with the R18 e-tron quattro, for the German race they will use the R8 LMS ultra, a vehicle which triumphed in its class three times between 2009 and 2011.

For this year’s race, Audi Sport Team Phoenix will be racing with two factory-backed Audi R8 LMS ultra cars. Behind the wheel of #3 are going to be Marc Basseng (D) and Frank Stippler (D), Marcel Fässler (CH) and Laurens Vanthoor (B), while in the sister car will be Christopher Haase (D), Markus Winkelhock (D), Christian Mamerow (D) and René Rast (D).

You Might Also Enjoy:  VIDEO: Audi S4 Avant - Still the best sleeper

Moving onto the Prosperia C. Abt Racing team, one of the cars will be controlled by Alexander Müller (D), Marco Seefried (D) and Richard Westbrook (GB) and the other by Christer Jöns (D), Niclas Kentenich (D), Christopher Mies (D) and Dominik Schwager (D) in the #10 car.

G-Drive Racing will use Audi factory driver Nico Müller (CH) alongside with Roman Rusinov (RUS), Edward Sandström (S) and Stéphane Ortelli (MC). Team Twin Busch Motorsport will consist of three drivers: brothers Dennis and Marc Busch (D) along with  Manuel Lauck (D) and Stefan Landmann (A).

Just like in previous years, Audi will field at the Nürburgring 24 Hours two R8 LMS ultra cars driven by fast Audi customers together with seasoned race drivers. Ex-DTM driver Rahel Frey will be sharing one of the cars with Dominique Bastien (USA), Christian Bollrath (D) and Christiaan Frankenhout (NL) while the other car is going to be Felix Baumgartner (A), debuting in this competition, who will share the car with ex Le Mans winners Marco Werner (D) and Frank Biela (D) and Pierre Kaffer (D).

Here are Audi’s teams for the 2014 Nürburgring 24 Hours:

You Might Also Enjoy:  Audi achieves podium finish at 2015 Le Mans

Phoenix Racing
3  Marc Basseng/Marcel Fässler/Frank Stippler/Laurens Vanthoor (D/CH/D/B)
4  Christopher Haase/Christian Mamerow/René Rast/Markus Winkelhock (D/D/D/D)

Prosperia C. Abt Racing
9  Alexander Müller/Marco Seefried/Nicki Thiim/Richard Westbrook (D/D/DK/GB)
10  Christer Jöns/Niclas Kentenich/Christopher Mies/Dominik Schwager (D/D/D/D)

Audi race experience
18  Dominique Bastien/Christian Bollrath/Christiaan Frankenhout/Rahel Frey (USA/D/NL/CH)
502  Felix Baumgartner/Frank Biela/Pierre Kaffer/Marco Werner (A/D/D/D)

G-Drive Racing
17  Nico Müller/Stéphane Ortelli/Roman Rusinov/Edward Sandström (CH/MC/RUS/S)

Twin Busch Motorsport powered by Kumho Tyre
16  Dennis Busch/Marc Busch/Stefan Landmann/Manuel Lauck (D/D/A/D)

And here’s the schedule of the race:


Thursday, June 19
14.45–16.45     Free practice 
18.45–23.00     Qualifying 1

Friday, June 20
10.15–12.15     Qualifying 2
17.10–17.50     Top 30 qualifying

Saturday, June 21
08.30–09.30     Warm-up
16.00         Start

Sunday, June 22
16.00         Finish

Adrian Padeanu

Long-time fan of the fabled Four Rings.