Daniel Abt sailed to his first-ever victory for Audi in Formula E

Team Audi Abt Shaeffler through pilot Daniel Abt scored the first-ever victory on Saturday in Formula E.  Starting at the back of the pack following a 10-place grid penalty, Abt climbed to 15th place in just 16 laps

A quick pit stop from Audi Sport Abt Shaeffler allowed Daniel Abt take the top spot from Oliver Turvey for the second half of the race.

With ten laps to go, Daniel Abt held the lead with Turvey still holding onto second place and Buemi in third. With Panasonic Jaguar Racing’s Nelson Piquet Jr. hunting down Buemi, the two former champs were in a battle for third place.

You Might Also Enjoy:  René Rast Joins Audi Formula E Team in Place of Daniel Abt

Abt was denied victory in the second race of the current season in Hong Kong back in December due to a technical infringement, with Rosenqvist given the win.

Defending Champion Lucas di Grassi was relegated to the back of the grid and also had to serve a 5-second penalty at the pit stop because the inverter on his Audi e-tronFE04 had to be opened between the races in Santiago de Chile and Mexico City.

The Brazilian fought his way through the field and scored his first points of the season with ninth place and the fastest race lap. “That was an exciting race that was a lot of fun,” said the Brazilian. “Congratulations to Daniel: a fantastic job! He had already earned his first victory in Hong Kong. We never give up as a team and our fightback started today.”

You Might Also Enjoy:  Audi comes to Formula E finale with clear goals

The next ePrix will be in Uruguay on March 17.

2018 Mexico City E-Prix Results

Pos Driver Team Car Laps Gap
1 Daniel Abt Audi Audi 47 50m45.164s
2 Oliver Turvey NIO NextEV NIO 47 6.398s
3 Sebastien Buemi e.dams Renault 47 6.615s
4 Nelson Piquet Jr. Jaguar Jaguar 47 7.015s
5 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah Renault 47 7.546s
6 Mitch Evans Jaguar Jaguar 47 9.050s
7 Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti Andretti 47 17.157s
8 Edoardo Mortara Venturi Venturi 47 26.511s
9 Lucas di Grassi Audi Audi 47 29.208s
10 Alex Lynn Virgin DS Virgin 47 29.515s
11 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Penske 47 30.418s
12 Jose Maria Lopez Dragon Penske 47 31.859s
13 Andre Lotterer Techeetah Renault 47 36.206s
14 Luca Filippi NIO NextEV NIO 47 38.336s
15 Tom Blomqvist Andretti Andretti 47 38.592s
16 Maro Engel Venturi Venturi 47 44.689s
17 Sam Bird Virgin DS Virgin 47 44.982s
Nicolas Prost e.dams Renault 36 Retirement
Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Mahindra 34 Retirement
Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Mahindra 27 Retirement
You Might Also Enjoy:  2015 Audi Q5 grabs Top Safety Pick+ Rating From IIHS