Audi has won the 2014 Nürburgring 24 Hours

A week ago Audi took a one-two win at Le Mans and last Sunday they managed to repeat that success at the Nürburgring 24 Hours. The Phoenix Racing team with their Audi R8 LMS ultra were the ones who achieved the victory in the German endurance race in which they managed to do no less than 159 laps.

It’s the first time ever in the Nürburgring 24 Hours history when a car covers more than 4,000 km as the vehicle was able to do no less than 4,035 km. The race started out quite turbulent as many incidents occurred in the early hours while on Sunday morning it transformed into a real sprint with an exciting duel between Christian Mamerow in the #4 Audi and the Mercedes-Benz belonging to the Mercedes of the Black Falcon team. The duo switched positions several times and in the end the Audi went in front and eventually pulled ahead after the drivers switch between Christopher Haase, René Rast and Markus Winkelhock.

You Might Also Enjoy:  Audi S3 Sportback is the best everyday car we don't get in America

At the end of this year’s Nürburgring 24 Hours, the Audi quartet finished with an advantage of 2 minutes and 59 seconds while the other Audi models finished on the ninth place (Baumgartner/Werner/Biela/Kaffer), tenth place (Busch/Busch/Lauck/Landmann), 23rd place (Frey/Frankenhout/Bastien/Bollrath) and 34th (Mies/Jöns/Kentenich/Schwager (Audi R8 LMS ultra).

Here are the full results of the 2014 Nürburgring 24 Hours:

1 Haase/Mamerow/Rast/Winkelhock (Audi R8 LMS ultra), 159 laps
2 Bleekemolen/Simonsen/Menzel/Arnold (Mercedes), + 2m 59s
3 Zehe/Hohenadel/Bastian/Engel (Mercedes) – 2 laps
4 Henzler/Dumbreck/Ragginger/Imperatori (Porsche) – 2 laps
5 Mücke/Turner/Lamy (Aston Martin) – 2 laps
6 Klingmann/Baumann/Hürtgen/Tomczyk (BMW) – 2 laps
7 Primat/Götz/Heyer/Rehfeld (Mercedes) – 3 laps
8 Stuck/Sandritter/Brück/Rostek (BMW) – 5 laps
9 Baumgartner/Werner/Biela/Kaffer (Audi R8 LMS ultra) – 6 laps
10 Busch/Busch/Lauck/Landmann (Audi R8 LMS ultra) – 7 laps
23 Frey/Frankenhout/Bastien/Bollrath (Audi R8 LMS ultra) – 15 laps
34 Mies/Jöns/Kentenich/Schwager (Audi R8 LMS ultra) – 21 laps

Adrian Padeanu

Long-time fan of the fabled Four Rings.