Audi R18 e-tron quattro manages one-two finish at Le Mans

Despite having a rather unlucky start after crashing the #1 car before the race and the retirement of the #3 car after the start, the Audi R18 e-tron quattro has managed to obtain a one-two win at Le Mans. Throughout the 24-hour endurance race, all seven LMP1 cars had trouble at one time during the race, but at the end of the race Audi was in front of rivals from Toyota and Porsche.

After 24 hours and 379 laps, the Audi R18 e-tron quattro driven by Audi Benoit Treluyer, Marcel Fassler and Andre Lotterer took the win, in front of teammates Tom Kristensen, Lucas di Grassi and Marc Gene in the other remaining car which managed to complete 376 laps. As most of you know, the car driven by Marco Bonanomi, Oliver Jarvis and Filipe Albuquerque retired after 25 laps due to an accident.

The third place on the podium went to Davidson, Lapierre, Buemi in the Toyota TS040 Hybrid with 373 laps, followed by the Rebellion R-ONE Toyota car driven by Prost, Heidfeld and Beche. Porsche’s return to the LMP1 category of Le Mans was a failure as the Dumas/Jani/Lieb team retired after 348 laps while the Webber/Hartley/Bernhard car did it three laps earlier.

Here are the complete results of this year’s 24 Hours of Le Mans:

1. Fassler/Lotterer/Treluyer GER Audi Sport Joest R18 e-tron 379 Laps LMP1 
2. Kristensen/Gene/di Grassi GER Audi Sport Joest R18 e-tron 376 Laps LMP1 
3. Davidson/Lapierre/Buemi JPN Toyota TS040 Hybrid 373 Laps LMP1 
4. Prost/Heidfeld/Beche SUI Rebellion R-ONE Toyota 359 Laps LMP1 
5. Dolan/Tincknell/Turvey GBR Jota Zytek Z11SN Nissan 355 Laps LMP2 
6. Thiriet/Badey/Gommendy FRA Thiriet by TDS Ligier JS Nissan 355 Laps LMP2 
7. Panciatici/Webb/Chatin FRA Signatech Alpine A450b Nissan 355 Laps LMP2 
8. Rast/Charouz/Capillaire FRA Sebastien Loeb Oreca 03 Nissan 354 Laps LMP2 
9. Brundle/Mardenborough/Shulzhitskiy FRA OAK Ligier JS Nissan 354 Laps LMP2 
10. Klien/Hirsch/Brandela SUI Newblood Morand Morgan Judd 352 Laps LMP2 
11. Cheng/Tung/Fong FRA OAK Asia Ligier JS Honda 347 Laps LMP2 
12. Lancaster/Mailleux/Frey SUI Race Performance Oreca 03 Judd 342 Laps LMP2 
13. Ragues/Taylor/Ihara FRA Larbre Morgan Judd 340 Laps LMP2 
148. Bruni/Vilander/Fisichella ITA AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia 339 Laps GTE Pro 
15. Magnussen/Garcia/Taylor USA Corvette Racing Chevrolet C7 R 338 Laps GTE Pro 
16. Holzer/Makowiecki/Lietz GER Porsche Team Manthay 911 337 Laps GTE Pro 
17. Schell/Leutwiler/Roussel GER Pegasus Morgan Nissan 336 Laps LMP2 
18. Poulsen/Heinemeier/Thiim GBR Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8 334 Laps GTE Am 
19. Gavin/Milner/Westbrook USA Corvette Racing Chevrolet C7 R 333 Laps GTE Pro 
20. Ried/Bachler/Al Qubaisi GER Proton Porsche 911 GT3 RSR 332 Laps GTE Am 
21. Perez/Cioci/Venturi ITA AF Corse Ferrari F458 Italia 331 Laps GTE Am 
22. Montecalvo/Roda/Ruberti USA 8 Star Ferrari F458 Italia 330 Laps GTE Am 
23. Dempsey/Long/Foster GER Proton Porsche 911 GT3 RSR 329 Laps GTE Am 
24. Kimber-Smith/McMurry/Dyson MAL Caterham Zytek Z11SN Nissan 329 Laps LMP2 
25. Dalla Lana/Lamy/Nygaard GBR Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8 329 Laps GTE Am 
26. Al-Faisal/Neiman/Pumpelly GBR JMW Ferrari F458 Italia 327 Laps GTE Am 
27. Nakano/Ehret/Rich JPN Taisan Ferrari F458 Italia 327 Laps GTE Am 
28. Barthez/Pons/Ayari FRA Sofrev ASP Ferrari F458 Italia 325 Laps GTE Am 
29. Krohn/Jonsson/Collins USA Krohn Ferrari F458 Italia 324 Laps GTE Am 
30. Narac/Armindo/Hallyday FRA IMSA Performance Matmut Porsche 911 GT3 RSR 323 Laps GTE Am 
31. Mowlem/Patterson/Hamilton GBR Ram Racing Ferrari F458 Italia 319 Laps GTE Am 
32. MacNeil/Curtis/Bleekemolen BEL Prospeed Porsche 911 GT3 RSR 319 GTE Am 
33. Maris/Merlin/Helary FRA IMSA Performance Matmut Porsche 911 GT3 RSR 317 Laps GTE Am 
34. Turner/Mucke/Senna GBR Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8 310 Laps GTE Pro 
35. Pilet/Bergmeister/Tandy GER Porsche Team Manthay 911 309 Laps GTE Pro 
36. Ladygin/Zlobin/Salo RUS SMP Oreca 03 Nissan 303 Laps LMP2 
37. Mallegol/Bachelier/Blank ITA AF Corse Ferrari F458 Italia 295 Laps GTE Am 

Not Classified 

38. Dumas/Jani/Lieb GER Porsche 919 Hybrid 348 Laps LMP1 
39. Webber/Hartley/Bernhard GER Porsche 919 Hybrid 346 Laps LMP1 
40. Wurz/Sarrazin/Nakajima JPN Toyota TS040 Hybrid 219 Laps LMP1 
41. Bertolini/Shaitar/Basov RUS SMP Ferrari F458 Italia 196 Laps GTE Am 
42. Palttala/Collard/Perrodo BEL Prospeed Porsche 911 GT3 RSR 194 Laps GTE Am 
43. Parente/Griffin/Leo GBR Ram Racing Ferrari 458 Italia 140 Laps GTE Pro 
44. Rusinov/Pla/Canal RUS G-Drive Morgan Nissan 120 Laps LMP2 
45. Mann/Giammaria/Case ITA AF Corse Ferrari F458 Italia 115 Laps GTE Am 
46. Howson/Bradley/Imperatori HKG KCMG Oreca 03 Nissan 87 Laps LMP2 
47. Berthon/Gonzalez/Chandhok IRL Murphy Oreca 03 Nissan 73 Laps LMP2 
48. Leimer/Belicchi/Kraihamer SUI Rebellion Lola B/12 Toyota 73 Laps LMP1 
49. Munemann/Latif/Winslow GBR Greaves Zytek Z11SN Nissan 31 Laps LMP2 
50. Rigon/Kaffer/Beretta ITA AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia 28 Laps GTE Pro 
51. Albuquerque/Bonanomi/Jarvis GER Audi Sport Joest R18 e-tron 25 Laps LMP1 
52. Wyatt/Rugolo/Bird ITA AF Corse Ferrari F458 Italia 22 Laps GTE Am 
53. Minassian/Ladygin/Mediani RUS SMP Oreca 03 Nissan 9 Laps LMP2 
54. Ordonez/Reip/Motoyama JPN Nissan Motorsports ZEOD RC 5 Laps Garage 56 

Did Not Start 

Macdowall/O’Young/Rees GBR Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8 GTE Pro

You Might Also Enjoy:  SPIED: Check Out the Audi Q6 e-tron Face Exposed
Adrian Padeanu

Long-time fan of the fabled Four Rings.