Audi achieves podium finish at 2015 Le Mans

Audi has managed a commendable podium finish at the 2015 Le Mans 24-hour endurance race. The company set its sights on obtaining the 14th victory but had to settle for third place after Porsche achieved a 1-2 finish with Hülkenberg/Bamber/Tandy taking the win after 395 laps while in second came Bernhard/Webber/Hartley one lap behind the winner.

The Audi R18 e-tron quattro driven by Fässler/Lotterer/Tréluyer was two laps behind the race winner and was followed by the car driven by di Grassi/Duval/Jarvis which had a three lap gap behind the leader. Porsche also secured fifth place with Dumas/Jani/Lieb (four laps behind) while behind were Wurz/Sarrazin/Conway from Toyota at eight laps.

Audi R18 e-tron quattro #9
Audi R18 e-tron quattro #9

There was another Audi R18 e-tron quattro which managed to cross the finish line, driven by Albuquerque/Bonanomi/Rast who took seventh place while being eight laps behind the winners. Toyota grabbed eight place with Davidson/Buemi/Nakajima which had a nine lap gap while Nissan obtained ninth and tenth place with Howson/Bradley/Lapierre (ORECA-Nissan) and Dolan/Evans/Turvey (Gibson-Nissan), respectively.

Audi wants revenge after the 2015 Le Mans on August 30 during the German World Endurance Championship (WEC) round at the Nurburgring where the R18 e-tron quattro’s main objective is to cross the finish line in the first place, ahead of arch rivals from Porsche.

Here are the full results of the 2015 Le Mans:

  1. Hulkenberg/Tandy/BamberGER Porsche 919 Hybrid 395 laps LMP1
    2. Webber/Hartley/Bernhard GER Porsche 919 Hybrid 394 laps LMP1
    3. Lotterer/Fassler/Treluyer GER Audi Sport Team Joest R18 e-tron 393 laps LMP1
    4. Duval/di Grassi/Jarvis GER Audi Sport Team Joest R18 e-tron 392 laps LMP1
    5. Jani/Lieb/Dumas GER Porsche 919 Hybrid 391 laps LMP1
    6. Wurz/Conway/Sarrazin JPN Toyota Gazoo TS040 Hybrid 387 laps LMP1
    7. Albuquerque/Bonanomi/Rast GER Audi Sport Team Joest R18 e-tron 387 laps LMP1
    8. Davidson/Buemi/Nakajima JPN Toyota Gazoo TS040 Hybrid 386 laps LMP1
    9. Howson/Lapierre/Bradley HKG KCMG Oreca 05-Nissan 368 laps LMP2
    10. Turvey/Evans/Dolan GBR Jota Gibson-Nissan 368 laps LMP2
    11. Rusinov/Canal/Bird RUS G-Drive Ligier-Nissan 368 laps LMP2
    12. Yacaman/Derani/Gonzalez RUS G-Drive Ligier-Nissan 354 laps LMP2
    13. Chandhok/Berthon/Patterson IRL Murphy Oreca 03R-Nissan 340 laps LMP2
    14. Mediani/Minassian/Markozov RUS SMP BR01-Nissan 339 laps LMP2
    15. Brown/van Overbeek/Fogarty USA ESM Ligier-Honda 337 laps LMP2
    16. Ibanez/Perret/Bellarosa SMR Ibanez Oreca 03R-Nissan 337 laps LMP2
    17. Imperatori/Abt/Kraihamer SUI Rebellion R-ONE AER 336 laps LMP1
    18. Tung/Cheng/Roussel GER Pegasus Morgan-Nissan 334 laps LMP2
    19. Shaytar/Bertolini/Basov RUS SMP Ferrari 458 Italia 332 laps GTE Am
    20. Rigon/Calado/Beretta ITA AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia 332 laps GTE Pro
    21. Dempsey/Long/Seefried GER Dempsey-Proton Porsche 911 RSR 331 laps GTE Am

    22. Gavin/Milner/Taylor USA Corvette Racing C7.R 292 laps GTE Pro
    23. Heidfeld/Prost/Beche SUI Rebellion R-ONE AER 330 laps LMP1
    24. Sweedler/Bell/Segal USA Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 458 Italia 330 laps GTE Am
    25. Bruni/Vilander/Fisichella ITA AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia 330 laps GTE Pro
    26. Aguas/Perrodo/Collard ITA AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia 330 laps GTE Am
    27. Sorensen/Thiim/Nygaard GBR Aston Martin Racing Vantage GTE 330 laps GTE Pro
    28. Sharp/Dalziel/Heinemeier-Hansson USA ESM Ligier-Honda 329 laps LMP2
    29. Nicolet/Merlin/Maris FRA OAK Ligier-Nissan 328 laps LMP2
    30. Lietz/Christensen/Bergmeister GER Porsche Team Manthay 911 RSR 327 laps GTE Pro
    31. Mann/Gianmaria/Cressoni ITA AF Corse Ferrari 458 Itali 326 laps GTE Am
    32. Krohn/Jonsson/Barbosa USA Krohn Ligier-Judd 323 laps LMP2
    33. Aleshin/Ladygin/Ladygin RUS SMP BR01-Nissan 322 laps LMP2
    34. MacDowall/Stanaway/Rees GBR Aston Martin Racing Vantage GTE 320 laps GTE Pro
    35. Chen/Vannelet/Parisy TWN Team AAI Porsche 911 GT3 RSR 320 laps GTE Am
    36. al Faisal/Giermaziak/Avenatti GBR JMW Ferrari 458 Italia 320 laps GTE Am
    37. Maassen/Chen/Kapadia TWN Team AAI Porsche 911 GT3 RSR 316 laps GTE Am


    38. Lamy/Lauda/Dalla Lana GBR Aston Martin Racing Vantage GTE 321 laps GTE Am
    39. Monteiro/Trummer/Kaffer AUT ByKolles CLM P1/01 AER 260 laps LMP1
    40. Tincknell/Krumm/Buncombe JPN Nissan GT-R LM Nismo 242 laps LMP1
    41. Cumming/Vanthoor/Estre FRA OAK Ligier-Honda 329 laps LMP2
    42. Bleekemolen/Keating/Miller USA Riley TI Auto Dodge Viper GTS-R 304 laps GTE Am
    43. Watts/Kane/Leventis GBR Strakka DOME-Nissan 264 laps LMP2
    44. Cameron/Griffin/Mortimer ITA AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia 241 laps GTE Am
    45. Mardenborough/Chilton/Pla JPN Nissan GT-R LM Nismo 234 laps LMP1
    46. Thiriet/Badey/Gommendy FRA Thiriet by TDS Oreca 05-Nissan 204 laps LMP2
    47. Hall/Goethe/Castellacci GBR Aston Martin Racing Vantage GTE 187 laps GTE Am
    48. Webb/Ragues/Amberg SUI SARD-Morand Morgan-SARD 162 laps LMP2
    49. Ordonez/Matsuda/Shulzitskiy JPN Nissan GT-R LM Nismo 115 laps LMP1
    50. Panciatici/Chatin/Cappillaire FRA Signatech Alpine Nissan 110 laps LMP2
    51. Turner/Mucke/Bell GBR Aston Martin Racing Vantage GTE 110 laps GTE Pro
    52. Roda/Ruberti/Poulsen FRA Larbre Chevrolet Corvette C7.R 94 laps GTE Am
    53. Lancaster/Paletou/Hirsch GBR Greaves Gibson-Nissan 71 laps LMP2
    54. Ried/Al Quabisi/Bachler GER Abu Dhabi-Proton Porsche 911 RSR 44 laps GTE Am
    55. Pilet/Makowiecki/Henzler GER Porsche Team Manthay 911 RSR 14 laps GTE Pro


    Magnussen/Garcia/Briscoe USA Corvette Racing C7.R GTE Pro

You Might Also Enjoy:  Mercedes-Benz GLB-Class is a Tiny Seven-Seater: Should Audi Follow?
Adrian Padeanu

Long-time fan of the fabled Four Rings.